All-SEC baseball: Tennessee dominates USA TODAY Network team – Knoxville News Sentinel

USA TODAY Sports Network  |  Knoxville News Sentinel

ce3e14b9 68bb 453a b0ac a6d4ba7c84d1 KNS Tennessee Georgia Baseball 896


Tennessee, a runaway winner in the SEC regular-season championship race, also ran away with top honors on the All-SEC baseball team as selected by the USA TODAY Network team that covers the league.

The Volunteers had the coach, player, pitcher and freshman of the year. Tennessee also led the first and second teams with eight total selections, including four first-teamers. Vanderbilt was second with four total selections. 

Tennessee’s Tony Vitello was voted SEC coach of the year for leading the Volunteers to the league title and a No. 1 ranking in the USA TODAY Sports baseball coaches poll entering the final weekend of regular-season play. Trey Lipscomb was selected player of the year, with Chase Dollander picked as pitcher of the year and Chase Burns as freshman of the year.

Auburn’s Sonny DiChiara, a transfer from Samford, was named newcomer of the year. He was also the only unanimous first-team selection.

Here is a look at the teams:

Bringing the heat: Throwing 105.5 mph: How Tennessee’s Ben Joyce became college baseball’s unexpected pitching sensation

Home field?: Will Auburn baseball host an NCAA regional? Where Tigers stand before postseason starts

Answering questions: Vanderbilt baseball mailbag: Home run struggles and why 2022 could be like 2018

First team

Catcher: BT Riopelle, Florida

First base: Sonny DiChiara, Auburn

Second base: RJ Yeager, Mississippi State

Shortstop: Jacob Gonzalez, Ole Miss

Third base: Trey Lipscomb, Tennessee

Outfield: Drew Gilbert, Tennessee

Outfield: Wyatt Langford, Florida

Outfield: Dylan Rock, Texas A&M

DH/Utility: Dominic Keegan, Vanderbilt

Starting pitcher: Chase Burns, Tennessee

Starting pitcher: Jonathan Cannon, Georgia

Starting pitcher: Chase Dollander, Tennessee

Relief pitcher: Blake Burkhalter, Auburn

Second team

Catcher: Evan Russell, Tennessee

First base: Tim Elko, Ole Miss

Second base: Jorel Ortega, Tennessee

Shortstop: Josh Day, Missouri

Third base: Jacob Berry, LSU

Outfield: Enrique Bradfield, Vanderbilt

Outfield: Dylan Crews, LSU

Outfield: Spencer Jones, Vanderbilt

DH/Utility: Hunter Hines, Mississippi State

Starting pitcher: Drew Beam, Tennessee

Starting pitcher: Devin Futrell, Vanderbilt

Starting pitcher: Connor Noland, Arkansas

Relief pitcher: Ben Joyce, Tennessee